Rosin dust

Dave had to work the lunch shift at CQ today.  He did not have time to make the 4 mile, 20 minute drive home.  I’m such a good wife.  I packed a warm lunch and prepared his afternoon snack, put the puppy in the front seat, and headed for the band hall.  Gunny and I took lunch to daddy!!  It was super cute.  It was really good for Gunny too because he got to meet a bunch of new people.  Socializing this puppy could be a full time job.

Lloyd came up and asked me a question.  Well, he said “I have a question about strings”.  It is something of a specialty of mine.  So I offered to help.  He started to tell me about the problems he was having while miming a performance of some sort of hybrid string instrument that is held on the shoulder and bowed in the lap.  I had to stop him and ask him to clarify which instrument we were talking about.  He said bass.  Duh.  He is an electric bassist trying to learn the upright bass.  His main complaint was the fact that one of the bows did not make any sound on the strings.  I instantly knew the issue with that one.  I asked if there was rosin on it.  He had no idea what rosin was.  Ha!  You see, without rosin the horsehair on the bow is slick.  It brushes across the strings like a soft piece of silk.  It makes no impact.  It makes no sound.

Momma pointed out that there was probably a spiritual lesson in this.  I’ve been thinking about it all day.  For me I think the lesson is Scripture memory.  Without the sword of the Spirit which is the Word of God, I make no impact on this world for the Kingdom.  I am silent.  I am at risk.

Time to add some rosin.  Time to make some music.

Leave a Reply

