Natural Narrative

I’m writing a book.

Are you laughing?  No?

The funny thing about my tendency to announce that I’m taking on a new project is the reaction I get.  No surprise.  I like having mountains to climb. I love having things to do.  I love trying new things.  Most new things.  This month, that thing is a novel.  My momma will tell you that I grew up focused on the product at the end of a process.  She worked so hard to encourage me to invest in the process.  I am so grateful for her work.  I truly love the process now.  Well, I love most processes.

This process, I am loving!  I have actually started my book.  But one of the things I want to get out of this book writing is a better understanding of storytelling and narrative.  So today I studied narrative.  Some people have school books for things like narrative.  Me, I have Wikipedia.  I learned so much about voices and tenses and limitation versus omniscience.  I have determined that I am writing my novel with a Third-person omniscient narrative mode.  Do you know what that means?  I do.  Hehehe!

Research is also making great use of our library.  Dave and I have a ton of books.  There are a couple of shelves of truly good literature and it is such a great resource for someone who is writing a book.  I am able to instantly get examples.  I’m such a home schooler.

Here’s to life long learning!

3 thoughts on “Natural Narrative

Leave a Reply

