Toxins and Toys

We are doing a cleanse.  You know, those kind with 18 different fiber pills each day?  Cleanses have these lofty promises in their descriptions.  Things like how healthy your skin will be, how strong you will be, how good your liver will feel.  I’ve never really felt my liver, but I’ll let you know if it feels good.  Who thinks about how their liver feels?  Well, another fun part about doing a cleanse is toxin releases.  Toxins, those tiny little particles of ugliness that clog up my body, are happy lurking in their warm little corners of my body.  When something, like a cleanse, causes them to release their hold on my innards they do not go quietly.  This is starting to sound gross, but bear with me, I’m familiar with toxin releases.  They can be caused by many things – drinking delicious carrot and apple juice, practicing hot yoga, deep tissue massage.  Today toxins are making me feel awful.  I’m lethargic and sore, but in a hilariously good mood, so the next part is really funny.  I sound like Chewbacca when I speak!  Can’t tell you how many times we’ve laughed at my voice today!

In other news, my house looks like we have toddlers.  We do not.  We do not have kids at all.  We have dogs.  Danger is three and a half and has been with us since he was six weeks old.  Gunny is three months and has been with us for one whole week!  Left to his own devices, Danger will chill out all day long.  Gunny livens up the joint pretty significantly.  Gunny loves toys, so we have pulled out all the old dog toys from when we were first time pet owners – all those toys that Danger was never even one bit interested in.  All the toys fit into a Steve Madden shopping bag, thus there is a new game in the Scott household.  Ashley picks up all the dog toys and puts them in the yellow Steve Madden bag.  Ashley pushes Danger off the pull toys, crawls under couches, and gathers dog toys like a squirrel before the first frost – and puts them in the yellow Steve Madden bag.  Then the bag gets set in the middle of the living room.  Then Ashley gets to put her feet up and relax for a few minutes as both dogs dive headlong into the yellow bag.  I treasure those moments.  I know exactly where both dogs are.  I know exactly what both dogs are doing.  The dogs are ecstatically pulling all of the toys out of the bag and scattering them about the house.

happy puppy

Happiness all around.

Leave a Reply

